1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

How are you recording your FMR, RNC?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by regotheamigo, Jun 24, 2006.

1. regotheamigo

regotheamigo Member

I ask because I got one and will be putting it to good use once my RNP comes in. Do you use the compression for the master mix? Or just on a certain instrument like guitars, vocals etc? Also, I have a bunch of plug ins from Waves, Sound Forge and Sony and was wondering if I should not use those compressors with the RNC? I am new to all this stuff so sorry if this seems stupid to ask

2. Rusty G.

Rusty G. Member

I've got a RNC and RNP and don't use the RNP much anymore, since I got a Great River mic-pre. I still use the RNC as a limiter more than compressor while recording. . .just to make sure I don't clip. Just a little bit, not to try to mess with the sound.

I use the compressors from Waves, the Rennaisance Maxx Compressors (plug-ins) after I record, during the final mix-down, for more punchiness on the bass, kick drum, etc.

3. dumeril7

dumeril7 Member

I use mine when recording vocals and bass. I'll run the preamp into the RNC prior to my A/D converters. Always light compression, no more than 4:1. For compressing the entire mix, I generally use SoundForge because I just find it a bit easier to do that sort of thing. On the couple times that I have run a mix thru the RNC, I've found it very helpful to patch an EQ into the side chain of the RNC so that I could control how much the low-end was triggering the RNC. Otherwise, I was getting too much pumping on hard kick drum hits and bass notes.

d7

4. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell Member