How can I progress?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by hhawkins, Mar 10, 2015.

1. hhawkins

hhawkins Member

I've been playing guitar for about 13 years now. I play mainly blues and gain influence from guys like Robben Ford, Robert Cray, Jimi Hendrix and Guthrie Govan.

I started of playing lots of Zeppelin stuff and my playing evolved from there on. I have also been playing piano since I was 7 so I feel I have a good solid knowledge of music theory. All in all, I would consider myself an advanced guitarist. I've learned all the modes and played them differently (in thirds, sixths, sequences etc). I feel I play blues pretty good and can effectively alternate between the major and minor pentatonic and the blues scale and also the diminished scale when suitable.

I suppose it's maybe more a technique thing that I think about when I think about progressing. Guys like Robben Ford and Robert Cray might not have a blistering legato technique, but what they do, they do very well and always seem to hit the right notes at the right time. For the most part, I can also seem to play the right notes which is great. I love the blues and it where I can really let go and express myself.

But then I see guys like Guthrie Govan and I am in awe of their technique. I love the way he alternate picks effortlessly, executes smooth legato lines like they're easy and at the same time, no matter what speed, he always seems to play the right notes and it all sounds amazing.

So maybe it's a technique thing I need to focus on. I'm not sure. But if you like minded guitarists who are perhaps more experienced than I am can offer any tips/advice, I would be most grateful.

Thanks.

2. stevel

stevel Member

Get an instructor.

It is the absolute quickest way to improve - especially in areas where you may not realize you can improve but it will turn out they'll be of great benefit in the future.