how can people alternate pick so fast?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by rich2k4, May 20, 2008.

1. rich2k4

rich2k4 Supporting Member

i'm talking about on 1 string and just alternate picking an open string.

i try to do it, and i can't get fast at all. but my friend who doesn't even practice speed can get it going pretty fast.

it makes it seem like some people are able to play fast, and others, no matter how much they practice or try will never be able to shred/play fast etc.

i've been returning to the speed thing every once in a while. it's something i want to accomplish as a goal even though i know it's not musical if used wrong. but it's just something i've always wanted to do. stuff like guthrie govan.

i've been working at it for the past 2 years and it seems like no matter how much i practice, even with a metronome etc. i just can't do it. there is always some kind of barrier i hit where i can't get any faster. no matter how long i sit down and try to find what i am doing wrong, and no matter how long i spend playing at 1 particular speed. i can never pass this certain barrier.

2. jazzandmetal?

jazzandmetal? Supporting Member

I spent a lot of time learning songs by Slayer, Metallica and Fear Factory.

3. Noah

Noah Member

Paul Gilbert - buy his Intense Rock 1 and 2 vids. Practice the licks and you will improve your speed. Just about every fast picker(in rock music) I've known got their alt. picking chops from watching those.

4. iaresee

iaresee Member

Those and Petrucci's Rock Discipline. Excellent for accuracy and speed. Warm up (you're going to be pushing your muscles pretty hard at first), practice with a metronome, and practice often.

Disclaimer: I follow none of my own advice and have relegated myself to playing plodding lead lines and the anti-thesis of speed metal.

5. rich2k4

rock dicipline, the paul gilbert videos. been there done that. can't ever get the licks up to the speed i want, which is the speed they play them at.