How did you cure your Leo Fender ERA Stratocaster GAS?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by shawntp, Jun 20, 2008.

1. shawntp

shawntp Member

Hey folks - I have played a bunch of wonderful early 60's Strats over the past few years that quite frankly keep me up at night with dreams of lust.

I've owned several strats over the years - Standard, Deluxe, Custom Shop, etc but I always let them go in search for another one.

When I look at strats I seem to break them down into:
    Comfort/playability
    Sound
    Aesthetics/ & that awful "Mojo" word (which is just poison in my brain)

So far the Pre-CBS strats are the only ones that have scored 100% in all categories above. If it were not for all the risk/fake issues involving vintage fenders I would not have a problem spending 15G on one but I am not an expert an the risk has left me skeptical.

So how does one cope - I know there are others here that want to jump on an old classic just like me be but are held back ...do you find an awesome master-built or something and the "GAS passes".

I consider myself a strat player and as pathetic as this sounds I do not even own a strat right now because I am holding out for that ultimate one that needs to stand up to the 60's ive played.

Sometimes I wish I could go back in time an wipe out the memory of all the pre-CBS ones ive played so I wouldn't have this bug in my head.

2. OldSchool

OldSchool Senior Member