How different are your clean and dirty tones?

nrvana8775

I have a Bandmaster Reverb as my clean, and a Vox/Marshall hybrid as my dirty. I'm trying to figure out a way to get them somewhat close, but still retain their natural character.

Is it a lost cause, or is there some heavy eq'ing that I can do?

How different are your clean/dirty tones? Do you try to keep them similar, or just accept their character?

wingwalker

Fuzzy Guitars
ONce you start A/Bing clean and dirty it's a lost cause...you might get the 2 set ups closer than they are on their own with various EQ's and such but by that point you will have likely runied the point of using the 2 different set ups.

Listen to Eric Johnson...he uses 3 set ups and they are all VERY different.

Pat Healy

Mine are night and day, and I like it that way. I like Fender tones for clean and Marshall tones for dirt. By design, they sound nothing like each other. That's a good thing, IMO.

GuitarBrent

You lost me at Vox/Marshall hybrid...what amp do you speak of? Vox and Marshall sound way different to my ear, but I think of AC-30 vs. 50 watt Plexi...and don't ruin your tone with an EQ pedal...enjoy the natural sound of your amps.

nrvana8775

You lost me at Vox/Marshall hybrid...what amp do you speak of? Vox and Marshall sound way different to my ear, but I think of AC-30 vs. 50 watt Plexi...and don't ruin your tone with an EQ pedal...enjoy the natural sound of your amps.
Dirty tones = Mayfly BC, which is a hybrid of vox/marshall, as far as the tone stack is concerned. I've heard that from multiple people.

SBEQ + Fromel Lush + VHT Valvulator = enhancing my tone, not ruining it. My amp/s sounds dead without those pedals :eek:.

spentron