How do you all approach talking down pawn shop purchases?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by thecomposinator, Aug 6, 2013.

1. thecomposinator

thecomposinator Supporting Member

I didn't know where to post this exactly, but I spent most of the TGP time in this forum section, so I thought I'd post here.

Do any of you have a tactic or way of approaching making deals in person at pawn shops? I've got a lot of experience with TGP and Craigslist with negotiations, but not a lot in person.

So what do you all think about when you see a possible deal but want to negotiate?

2. SonicVI

SonicVI Member

people still go to pawn shops?

3. 27sauce

27sauce Member

Just ask them if they can do better. He who names the first price loses, and they've already done that! At worst they'll eat the tax for you.

McBride's is a pretty badass pawn shop.

4. 27sauce

27sauce Member

Oh, and don't do the "That's how much it costs new!" or "That's more than it costs new!"

If that is the case, ask them to look it up. Say, do you have any idea how much this costs new? Don't piss them off, it won't work in your favor. Unless you get a cool clerk, which is rare.

5. Tomis17

Tomis17 Member

I would ask them if they have a sale going on. If not, ask if they could knock a percentage off. It will have to be a compromise between you and the shop but most places I go to will know 10% off.

6. msowl61

msowl61 Member

Exactly, just make an offer and see what they say. Having comparable options always helps if it's cheaper, and ultimately be prepared to walk away, they can smell it.

7. walterw

walterw Gold Supporting Member

this and only this;

you can only haggle if you're OK with not buying it.

8. scolfax

scolfax Member

+1.

Also, haggling is an art. You have to be able to feel comfortable in a (conversational) situation that most people wouldn't.

9. harpinon

harpinon Member

In about any store (including a $40k truck I bought) I simply say