How do you guys go about mesmerizing changes for jazz tunes?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by cantstoplt021, Mar 11, 2015.

1. cantstoplt021

cantstoplt021 Member

As a beginning jazz player one of the things I have a hard time with is memorizing the changes for tunes. There's a big difference between a 7 chord rock song and a jazz tune with 25 different chords, which can be changed and substituted and all that jazz. I'm amazed by my teachers ability to play a whole bunch of tunes by memory all while comping in very interesting ways all while keeping a great groove. How do you guys go about memorizing the changes to tunes? What about if you need to change keys for a singer or something like that?

2. amstrtatnut

amstrtatnut Member

ok take this with a grain of salt cause Ive never been really good at jazz.

Im guessing unless youre a total beginner you could play Johnny B. Goode without too much trouble. Its in guitar dna.

So jazz tunes are still tunes. They are songs. Its not good enough to memorize the changes. You have to get inside the song. When its in your dna....memorization is a non issue.

Plus if you play enough jazz you recognize patterns and common chord progressions just like in rock.

3. guitarjazz

guitarjazz Member

exactly
    to the op, check this out: http://www.ralphpatt.com/VBook.html

4. EDS

EDS Supporting Member

To echo what's been said, basically the more tunes you memorize and play, the easier it is to memorize more quickly.

I distincly remember that the first jazz songs seemed like they take forever to learn.

Eventually you get to the point where you can memorize changes in one or two passes through a song.

5. gdane4

gdane4 Supporting Member

I've been going through this also. Jazz lessons about 3 years now. This works best for me: