How do you justify buying a vintage nowdays in this market?

Discussion in '"Vintage" Instruments' started by bibir, Dec 5, 2017.

1. bibir

bibir Member

Is used to be for the imvestment in the late 90s early 00s, it used to be special and nothing compares. Is that still the justification now?

My real question is for guys who are buying a 15k vintage.. I hope this is not considered offensive, how much are you making a year? Do you regularly buy a vintage? Did you use to own a couple since teenagers and have been trading it for another vintage ever since? I'm making roughly 75k a year and can't justify myself into buying one. I have been contemplating this for five years but still can't justify myself into spending 10k for a guitar, especially in this used market nowdays. I mean some of the vintages must be just ok, but not special. W

How many of you guys are still buying a 10-20k guitar nowdays?

2. Super Reverb Swell

Super Reverb Swell Supporting Member

Firrst, I think the percentage of people spending over $10k for a guitar is fairly small. Those that still do it do it because they can. I don't think anyone is really buying and holding something that expensive with the hopes of it increasing in value significantly (maybe I'm naive). I imagine most popular vintage sellers (Norm's, CME, FrettedAmericana) do a lot of business internationally where certain model guitars didn't really get exported which is how they move expensive gear quickly.

Most guys I know buying vintage won't spend over $4k, because there are plenty of deals to be had and that's basically as much dollar for modern boutique stuff. Personally, I look for player condition stuff. It really comes down to if it gels with me or not though in terms of justification.

smiert spionam and stratjim like this.
  3. bibir

bibir Member

I am also at 4k, I have 3 late 60s es, about 75% original. But these player vintage is what I think will be pretty worthless in a few years.. IMHO

4. NewLeaf09