How does everyone afford all these guitars?

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by 909one, Oct 23, 2008.

1. 909one

909one Member

Ok, I was just looking at this thread....
    http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=453002

A lot of you are posting pictures of your music rooms. In some cases people have more than a dozen guitars, and more than a handful of amps and effects.

My question is, how does everyone afford all of these instruments?
    Most of you obviously aren't working musicians, because if that was the case, you'd never be able to to afford all the stuff you have. Most of my friends are musicians, and even those who have pretty decent day jobs don't even own close to the amount of gear in these pictures.

What does everyone do during the day?

I am a graphic designer, and on my salary its still pretty tough to make any major purchases without getting into credit card debt.

2. edwarddavis

edwarddavis Supporting Member

I sell the organs that I have two of . Seriously I have a lot of guitars but dont know how.

3. jay42

jay42 Member

I live in an area with an unbelievable number of BMWs and expensive SUVs, often driven by expensive looking women. I've come to the conclusion that there are a substantial number of people who make much better coin than I do....or, are really stupidly mortgaged. There's only so much beach area to go around. I suppose I don't really qualify to live where I do.

4. aeronius

aeronius Member

credit cards, leftover school loan cash, good day job (web designer)... as long as i have all my bases covered (bills, rent, etc.) it's all good :)

5. Bryan T

Bryan T Guitar Owner Silver Supporting Member

Keep in mind that some of these folks have been playing guitar for 30+ years. If they put $1,000 into their hobby every year, you can see how they might end up with a lot of nice stuff.

Bryan

6. Joe Boy

Joe Boy Member

I'm with you 909..I have 4 guitars and two amps.
    Through the years the pieces change.