how drastic of a change does a speaker make?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by hithere, Dec 20, 2009.

1. hithere

hithere Member

hey guys, like always you always help me out, through a lot of my repetitive questions.

Anyway I have been playing various fender blackface amps for the last 4 years, and ever since my drive sound has been a struggle.

The cleans are wonderful, but my current princeton reverb is a real struggle to get a pleasing drive sound out of, especially with single coils.

Ever since I played a tiny terror at the store, I have been thinking its time for me to start spending my money on some brit amps, hell I started on a marshall mg!

as you guys have probably heard me say a million times I love ryan adams tone, and was about to spend the money on a tone tubby alnico speaker, and though I know it will darken the amp, I still prefer his humbucker tone to his strat tone. Which is definitely just more of a circuit thing.

anyway I am thinking about possibly picking up a 2x12 orange instead,

I got my eyes on an ac 30/orange tiny terror/ad30tc/ and a marshall for the future.

so I am thinking perhaps it's time to stop spending money on something that's not working out for me.

ps. I know pete townshend uses v30s (like the orange cab) in his fender amp, perhaps the princeton may sound interesting through some v30s?

2. zoooombiex

zoooombiex Supporting Member

very drastic. i was very surprised when I learned that for myself. that said you can also chase your tail in circles with all the options out there.

as to the tone tubby, the new stuff is not dark. only the early runs were dark (or ones special ordered to be that way). IMO they work very will with Fender amps.

3. Steve73

Steve73 Member

Yeah, probably the most drastic change you can make to an amp, more than tubes for sure IME. I think an extension cab with a Princeton would be a great way to make it 'bigger' or a more pleasing drive tone. Maybe Blues or G12H30's?

4. mesa/kramer