1. A proposal is now up as a poll to change the guidelines of TGP to only allow member self-deleting of post/threads for up to thirty days of the original posting it. We are now watching the poll here. Click here to view the thread.

Dismiss Notice

how good are variax guitars?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by frquent flyer, May 17, 2011.

1. frquent flyer

frquent flyer Member

Anyone with first hand information on variax guitars. What do they do and how well do they do it?

2. frquent flyer

frquent flyer Member

I just did a search and saw a demo. I didn't know you need a HD 500 like system to run these guitars. They still seem at the "gimmick"stage to me.

3. slippyknees

slippyknees Supporting Member

i borrowed a friends tyler variax - the "lower end" one that looks like a strat. i love it!

(quick back history on me - i've been playing for 25 years, 12 of which have been professionally, graduated from berklee, owned WAY too much gear over the years (vintage, new), yadda yadda....meaning, i've played some great guitars and have some sense of how they may be useful in certain settings.)

some of the tones are meh...12 strings esp....they just sound digital. well, actually like my old micro pog if that helps.

but.....85% of the other tones are great. in my experience, any kind of modeling sounds bad on its own...put it in a mix though and it's hard to tell that it's not the real deal.

i think the absolute best use of these guitars is in demoing songs. if you've got a home recording set up and use it often, i'd get one. plugged into my mac, the acoustic tones blew me away. they are very, very useable. just the ease of use factor is off the charts - you don't have to mic the guitar, etc...they even get the string squeaks in there when changing chords - nice!