how hard is it to learn piano with 9 fingers?

wsaraceni

Silver Supporting Member
I don't actually have 9 fingers, but my right hand pinky finger has major tendon issues and I can't straighten it out. would it be a waste of time to try to learn basic piano?

hangten

Platinum Supporting Member
I don’t know but check out Carl Perkins (the jazz pianist) - his left arm was pretty damaged by polio to the point that he played some low notes with his elbow and held his left arm parallel to the keyboard…and I LOVE his playing…

where there is a will there is a way - go for it!

Jr Deluxe

What's basic? Some basic things will be ok with your condition. Some will be very hard. Jerry lee lewis for instance. Hammering those high octaves. I am not good at it with a normal pinky. With a bad pinky ....maybe you're double jointed and can make some wide stretches. If you want to learn some piano than do it. I've seen a guy play some jazz dave brubeck with some bizarre finger technique because of a defect. He is better than many standard players I've seen.

dcbc

Probably not worthless, but forming some chords without use of the right hand pinky might make it a bit challenging.

slimponey

once you figure out the mechanics of basic voice leading you will be able to make 99% of basic rock/pop music work with just fingers 1-4. Any chord that seems impossible, you could simply drop the 5th or root and reharmonize with something that works for your hand. Now if you decide to tackle Chopin... you might have some trouble lol

DigitalTube

Silver Supporting Member
I don't actually have 9 fingers, but my right hand pinky finger has major tendon issues and I can't straighten it out. would it be a waste of time to try to learn basic piano?
You can do it ... playing some classical pieces could be a bit harder, but most rock and even jazz is very possible, doing chords inversions etc, and your own versions of songs will be possible..