How important is volume balance between pickups? Why?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by dr.circles, Mar 14, 2008.

1. dr.circles

dr.circles Member

And is output directly, or just somewhat, correlated with volume balance? I'm new to all of this.

2. Austinrocks

Austinrocks Member

Pickups have a resistance which you can measure with and Ohm meter on most Multi-meters, typically the single coil is around 5K ohms, and a Humbucker around 12K ohms, however they vary over a range of values, the resistance relates the amount of volume you will get from the pick up, the higher the resistance the higher the volume will be. Manufactures will use the resistance to balance the volume in the better guitars, typically the neck and middle pickups will have one value say 5K ohms and the bridge will have a higher value say 8K ohms, this is to balance the volume across the pickups, cheaper guitars will often use the same pickup in all positions, this will cause the neck pickup to be louder than the bridge, it is noticible in a lot of guitars, and you can use the volume knob to balance the volumes when you need to, or you can spend some money and get better pickups, which is what I do, only one guitar of mine has the original pick up, its a cheap Oscar Schimdt, and the pick ups are more expensive than the $150 I paid of the guitar.

3. dr.circles

dr.circles Member

That's what I thinking- thanks!