How long before my right hand knows where the strings are?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by tomkatzz, Jul 10, 2008.

1. tomkatzz

tomkatzz Member

I've been playing since Feb 2007. I play/practice about an hour or more each day. But I don't seem to be improving.

I watch my left hand's fingering on the neck. But my right hand w/pick is all over the place.

How long before my right hand knows what the heck it's doing?

2. Guinness Lad

Guinness Lad Silver Supporting Member

Skip using the left hand for a while and try this: pick the notes alternating between up and down strokes playing from the Low E to the high E. Try all kinds of approaches, triplets, skipping strings - E to D for example.

There are many things you can do without using your left hand. Personally, I think people focus far too much on their left hand while neglecting their picking hand.

3. Austinrocks

Austinrocks Member

practice and patience, and a few exercises, try string skipping and one string solos, to get used to playing on a string. also playing each string in order going up and down, with a chord,

a couple suggestions,

1) my palm is on or above the bridge when I play, so I can palm mute the strings,

2) for single note solos it helps to mute the unplayed strings, SRV could mute all six strings when he played which allowed him to continue his strumming while soloing, once you know how to do its pretty easy, thumb over the top to mute the E and A string, fretting finger will mute the string above and below the played string with the padds of the finger, the index finger can mute the high e and b strings, you know you have it when you can strum all the strings only play the one you want, after a while it becomes second nature, its a skill you need in a band, since all unmuted strings will actually sound because the noise on stage alot of the time, you can also palm mute which will restrain the strings that are not played with the pick.

Last edited: Jul 16, 2008