How long until you "give up" on a new guitar?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by supergenius365, Feb 19, 2008.

1. supergenius365

supergenius365 Silver Supporting Member

I am the King of Instant Gratification.

If something doesn't impress me in the first 5 minutes, I get rid of it.
    My wife. My car. My Boogie IIC+. My Barber Tone Press. All of these hooked me from the beginning.

Having said that, I am fiercely loyal to the stuff that does impress me.

What I am not good at is giving something a try out or experimenting time to get familiar with it, which has probably caused me to lose some quality stuff.

How long do you play a new guitar before deciding to keep it or move it?

2. Smakutus

Smakutus Member

Even if the guitar needs new strings and a set up I seem to know it's a good one, or it's not a good one right away. I've had guitars that I really wanted to like (colour, shape etc ..) that I have put money into to try and get them to be "great" and it never works.

With an amp or effects where you need to tweak controls it takes longer but not much..

Jeff

3. smallbutmighty

smallbutmighty Supporting Member

I give things a LOT longer than you....10 minutes. :RoCkIn

All of my keeper gear rattled my sockets right away. That's not to say I don't spend a good deal of time dialing it in. Usually it takes a good year for me to get to know a guitar, and get it tweaked just the way I like it, but there has to be something that grabs me about it the first time I pick it up, or I move on.

A

4. shallbe

shallbe Deputy Plankspanker Gold Supporting Member

Honestly, I won't buy it if I don't think it is a good guitar. If it is a custom-build, I truly expect it to be a good guitar before it arrives.

When I get a new one, I set it up FOR ME, my style and my amp. No one else can really do that. After playing it a whille, I will still make tweaks to action and pickup height, etc., until it feels just right.