• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

How many distinct types of Fuzz Circuits do you think there are?

Barnzy

Silver Supporting Member
I'm fairly new to fuzz. So here's a question for those who know the history of fuzz... I ask because there are alot of pedals on the market that seem to be variations on just a few types, like a Dallas-Arbiter Fuzz Face, or the EHX Big Muff Pi. What seem to be the most archetypal circuits? And if anyone has a link to an article or thread that covers this topic, I'll take it!
Thanks,
Barnzy

Aquinas

Silver Supporting Member
Depends on what you mean by "distinct" and "Fuzz"...

Electronically, there are only a few ways that they work - the big ones being pure-transistor (Fuzz Face) and diode clipping (Big Muff, SuperFuzz), with or without an "octave" component (rectifier). Within those few frameworks, there is a whole lot of variety, and two pedals that nominally use the "same tech" may actually act quite different. In the end, it all hinges upon how you define "fuzz"!

Archetypical circuits include the Big Muff PI, Fuzz Face, Tonebender (mk2 and later, 1 and 1.5 are very similar to Fuzz Face), and Shin-ei (Superfuzz, companion). A lot of the nominally distinct designs are actually derivative of something else, intentionally or not - Foxx is derivative of Shin-ei, for an obvious example.