How many Tremolo Springs for 11s on a Strat?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by AlexT, Mar 14, 2005.

1. AlexT

AlexT Guest

I'm new to setting up a Strats - how many springs should I use for 11s. Don't plan to use the trem arm much.

Thanks,

Alex

2. Guinness Lad

Guinness Lad Silver Supporting Member

I like 4 springs. 3 is too light for me and 5 is too heavy. A lot of the spring tension is relative anyway. If you don't use it that much why not just screw down the six bridge plate screws and be done with it? I usually float mine the way it was supposed to be set up, 1/8th inch, technically 3/32nd off the body, to me the guitar just sounds better. Everybody likes something different. Jeff Beck supposidly sets up his guitars so it takes hardly any effort at all to move the trem, that's too sensitive for me.

3. John Phillips

John Phillips Member

Do NOT do that - that's absolutely the wrong thing to do with any Strat set-up, floating or non-floating. It's a very common mistake, and can lead to severe problems in extreme cases - damaged finish or even snapped screw heads - and at the very least tuning stability issues.

There is a quite critical right adjustment for these screws, and it is not with them down as tight as they will go - it's with them set carefully so the bridgeplate is just - and only just - pulled flat to the top, and not forced to rise at the back. This is the same whether you want the bridge to sit flat or float BTW - that's only controlled by how many and how tight you have the springs in the back.

If you tighten these screws fully then (especially) fit five springs and crank them up tight too - or even worse, force a wooden block in the back - you're exterting enormous upward force on the screw heads, and corresponding downward pressure on the guitar body just behind the pivot point, where the baseplate is angled upwards.