how much do you need to know to build an amp?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by -kk-, Nov 30, 2004.

1. -kk-

-kk- Member

Ive been toying with this idea forever (well, last 2-3 years). read up on it extensively, and generally speak I'm very keen on all things guitar related.

My stumbling block is that I have zero electronics experience/knowledge, other than what I have learned from my recent readings. I can read schematic well, but am still worried about things like dealing with trannys etc. I'm TOTALLY clueless when it comes to trannies especially, and am a little unclear about the different biasing methos etc, let alone building a power section.

Are these things that one can pick up as you go along? or do I really need to know my stuff before diving into it? Essentially, the best way to learn about something is to try it out, except that in this case, ignorance can potentially be fatal :(

any advice?

kelvin

2. saros141

saros141 Guest

There are some excellent articles HERE

3. Wakarusa

Wakarusa Member

To build an amp you need a good set of plans (schematic, layout, parts list), good soldering skills, some notion of proper lead dress and instruction in electrical safety. In order of priority, put the safety course at the top of the list.

To design an amp takes (choose one):
    a) a healthy budget, patience, lots of experimentation, and a fire extinguisher
    b) a friend who knows how and is willing to share
    c) lots and lots of reading and, preferably, some experience building/fixing 'em. Some math skills help too.

4. -kk-

-kk- Member

thanks for the response guys.

Saros, great site, I'll have a read through the articles when i have more time.

Todd, plans I have, soldering skills is getting better, but I'm lacking in "some notion of proper lead dress and instruction in electrical safety".

2 outta 3 aint bad right?