How Much Power Do You Need?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by docsmith, Feb 10, 2012.

1. docsmith

docsmith Member

All,

How much power do you need with your amp? I've been playing for close to 30 years. And I've never once been in a musical situation where I needed a 100 watt amp.

That being said, I HAVE been in a situation where I was playing a low powered combo amp (a Mesa Boogie Studio .22) and didn't have enough clean headroom to tame a fairly loud drummer. The lead channel was rockin', but the clean channel was going into overdrive 'cause I had to turn it pretty much all the way up just so I could hear myself. [side note: The studio .22 was one of my favorite amps of all time. I just wish it had more clean headroom].

From my experience, I think 30 watts is the minimum amount of tube power I need for most musical situations. The exceptions would be if I was recording. Or if I had access to a mic & a PA system. Barring that, I really do think 30 watts is the minimum amount of tube power I'd need.

What are your opinions & thoughts on this? I'd really like to know how others think about it.

Thanks,

Doc Smith

2. sharpshooter

sharpshooter Member

Totally dependent on the situation. Used in a medium sized room,(~100 people), my 22watt combo, placed against a wall, worked just fine. Then in an outdoor setting, with no back wall to reflect against,,it was useless.
    I believe that speaker cabs make a big difference,,if a cab can put most of its sound out where it's needed, you can use less watts. The typical, mostly open back combos have poor sound dispersion in many cases. If you mic the amp,,then, of course, the options are greater.
    Sometimes using a closed back extension cab, along with an open back combo can solve an issue.

3. pbmw

pbmw Member

Completely depends on the situation.
    I've gigged with my SFPR and done just fine. I've also played rooms where it wasn't enough. Same with my JTM45 into a 412...