How Similar are 6V6 and 6L6 Tubes Tonally?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by funkywrench, Feb 19, 2008.

1. funkywrench

funkywrench Member

Please forgive my ignorance, but I'd like to know how similar 6V6 and 6L6 tubes are tonally? I'm more interested in a clean tones comparison but a generalisation will do!

The reason I ask is because I like the cleans I get from using 6L6 power tubes in my current amp (Laney VC-50) however I much prefer either EL34s or EL84s (via a tube converter) for dirty and distorted sounds. The forthcoming Egnater Rebel has me hugely interested with the 6V6 and EL84 power section and I'm wondering what I can expect from 6V6 tubes in general.

2. StompBoxBlues

StompBoxBlues Member

Take it with a grain of salt, I'm no expert, but 6V6 tend to go into OD (losing that headroom) that you would get with 6L6's. My Deluxe Reverb II has a wonderful sound, but it isn't like that crystal clean sound.

I wonder though, if an amp takes 6V6's can one rebias and put in 6L6's ?

3. joeysmac

joeysmac Member

I just put a pair of KT66s in my Fargen Mini-Plex (which will take 6L6s, 6V6s, 5881s, and EL34s as well) and they sound great and give you tons of head room. The bass response is really tight and the harmonics are very clear and tasty...they are worth it if they will work for you.

4. skeeterbuck

skeeterbuck Member

I wonder though, if an amp takes 6V6's can one rebias and put in 6L6's ?[/quote]

It depends. If the amp is designed for either tube, then no problem.

If it's not there are several problems that could happen.

I have a Tone King Meteor amp that has external adjustments for the bias of each tube (2- 6V6's). I can put 6L6's in the amp but I can't get it to bias correctly.

I have talked to Mark at Tone King and he informed me that he could make a small change inside to correct this, but I haven't got off my butt to take it back to him. :Spank

5. singular

singular Member