How to avoid clipping in Garageband?

radiohead625

I'm brand new to recording in general and I'm somewhat overwhelmed. I'm plugging my guitar into a Scarlett 2i2 and then directly into my Mac. I've learned via Youtube to set the input on the 2i2 to just before clipping(red ring). However, in Garageband my guitar is still clipping.

I don't understand the db sliders(or dbs in general), but I realized the guitar is going into the red on these sliders no matter where I set them. What am I doing wrong?

cubistguitar

Unfortunately, this is a known issue with the Scarlett and many other low end audio interfaces, the quick cheap fix is too use a DI box and XLR cable to access the mic pre and it should stop the clipping and give enough gain. In other words, you haven't done anything wrong, your interface just promises more than it can actually do.

radiohead625

Unfortunately, this is a known issue with the Scarlett and many other low end audio interfaces, the quick cheap fix is too use a DI box and XLR cable to access the mic pre and it should stop the clipping and give enough gain. In other words, you haven't done anything wrong, your interface just promises more than it can actually do.
Basically I'd have to put a DI box in between my guitar and the interface? I'm kind of confused. Sorry, like I said I'm a total newb.

Is there another interface that you'd recommend?

sacakl

Gold Supporting Member
I haven't used the Scarlett before but I usually have the input gain set well below clipping on my Apogee, nowhere close to red or even yellow. There is also a track volume on GarageBand that I take down a little bit. I also uncheck the box where GarageBand automatically adjusts the recording level.

radiohead625