How to form a crappy garage band...30 years later?

DB Cooper

Started playing at the age of 45 - figured what the... I've been playing for about three years now. Still pretty much a beginner/intermediate, but, hey, I'm having fun, right?

But - I feel like I missed out on the teenage opportunity to form a crappy garage band and just blow, ya know? So I'd like to do that - find a bunch of middle-aged hacks, beginners, etc. and form a garage band. Just to make noise together.

The thing is, where do I find other beginners my age? Or is this just ridiculous? Maybe I should just stick to messing around in my living room...

I don't know - I really want to be in a BAND! Ya know?

Last edited:

stevel

Started playing at the age of 45 - figured what the... I've been playing for about three years now. Still pretty much a beginner/intermediate, but, hey, I'm having fun, right?

But - I feel like I missed out on the teenage opportunity to form a crappy garage band and just blow, ya know? So I'd like to do that - find a bunch of middle-aged hacks, beginners, etc. and form garage band. Just to make noise together.

The thing is, where do I find other beginners my age? Or is this just ridiculous? Maybe I should just stick to messing around in my living room...

Well, I think there are actually a lot of "beginners" out there, even though many of them think they're not.

Post a Craigslist ad and be honest. There are a lot of people our age (I'm 43) who want to play, but are too busy with careers and family to try and go out and gig.

If you're a churchgoer, try there - talk to the praise band if they have one.
Talk to some local guitar teachers - they may have contacts to other people your age who might be interested (and they'll know how advanced they are).

There's also nothing wrong with playing with younger beginners but a lot of young people (say below 40 mostly) are still "trying to make it" and won't want an "old" beginner in their band.