How To Get Audio Out of Garageband w/MOTU 828?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by R Anderson, Sep 12, 2005.

1. R Anderson

R Anderson Member

I am in my 1st year with DP/AudioDesk and MOTU 828. I have had excellent results to this point recording real audio. However, I am using Garageband and Apple Loops/Jam Pack for my drum backings. Love It.

After I have found and mixed a usable loop for practice or recording purposes I cannot figure out how to get this audio out to another device such as a line out to a mixer or line out to my BOSS BR-864 for more portable practice etc.

Is there such a thing as multiple "main outs"?

I am not asking how to get it into DP (which I believe is a drag and drop solution) and I would prefer not to export it to itunes/MP3.

Is there a "line out" or similar solution?
    Thanks!

Russell

2. mike@switchback

mike@switchback Member

I'm not sure I completely understand your question, but why not just play back the audio in GB, running a physical cable from your mac's output (or 828) to the Boss and record it on the Boss?

3. R Anderson

R Anderson Member

Ratter, thanks for your response and I apologize for my lack of clarity.

OK, I can run a physical cable from my 828 (which has 4 stereo pairs of outputs + main outs) into the BOSS. But it appears that I will need to unplug my mains and use the main outs to go to the BOSS to do so. No huge deal I guess but it would be nice to utilize the additional stereo outs of the 828 but I cannot figure out how to route the sound to those additional outs. In DP/AD the tracks are assignable to various outs but apparently not in GB.

Do people ever run their mains to a switch box where you manually direct to several optional outs instead of utilizing the additional outs on their interface?

Thanks
    Russell

4. TAVD

TAVD Guitar Player Gold Supporting Member

5. mike@switchback

mike@switchback Member