• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

How to handle vacuum tubes? I'm new to this.

P_Phrank

I really know next to nothing. I know to be careful, I know not to handle with your bare hands, and I know that they sound neat-o but that's it. I googled the same question and didn't find what I was looking for.

How do I clean them if I touch them?
Besides the shock risk, what are the dangers?

Thanks!

Blue Strat

You're over thinking this. There's nothing wrong with touching tubes, skin oil on tubes, etc. The halogen lamp rules do not apply.

The worst, though unlikely, thing that you could do with your hands (if you have toxic sweat as I do) is cause corrosion on the pins by touching them.

Aside from being careful with hot tubes and not dropping them, there's nothing to worry about.

Creamy

Be aware that they may be hot, so allow amp to cool a little after powering off. When removing power tubes (typically the larger ones), hold and wiggle them loose from the black plastic base. When replacing tubes, be sure to align pins with correct holes in socket. Although most tubes will only fit in one orientation, occasionally a tube or socket will allow different orientations and that could be bad for the amp. If you have vintage tubes and want to preserve the ink/graphics on them, be aware that perspiration, oils, etc will affect the ink.