How to tell when you are a 'Les Paul' guy...

jasonk931

Silver Supporting Member
Ok, so! Years and years of playing, a bizillion, and one guitars later, I've come to a conclusion! Im a Les Paul guy! I'm coming out of the guitar closet with axe in tow and it's a Paul! I realized that every guitar I would buy or build (I am a part time luthier/builder), I am always morphing, mutating, albeit, down right changing each guitar to sound like and feel like my Les Paul Goldtops. I, like many others, watch guitar videos, players, etc and find myself G.A.S.'ing for that tone or sound, thinking it would increase me somehow to the status of said, shred-meister! Time, money, and age have taught me one thing...play what is YOU! Turn off the videos, webpages of lore, and focus on what makes you lift your head back and smile as you shred in your own way!

For me, give me a Les Paul Goldtop with true PAF humbuckers, and I will call it a day as I retreat to my tonal vacation! Ahhh, bliss.

Now, having said all this, I still have my stash of Strats, Teles, SG's, Gretsch, and such. All amazing guitars in their own right. Occasionally I will pause from the true me and grab my Gilmour invisibility cloak and attach my paws to my blacked out strat and wail in my Floyd moment and enjoy every minute of it! But, and that's a really big but, once I return to the reality of me, LP, you are calling me.

Maybe coffee made me write this today, or the fact that I am stairing at my LP while I write this, but sometimes you just have to put to pen your heart. For me, Les is More....Cheers all.

Disclaimer: This is no way a slam to other guitar styles or manufacturers. I own most. Just a little praise for a creation I thoroughly enjoy.

Fatboy666

Silver Supporting Member
same here

I've owned every shape and style of guitar, always go back to the LP or something similar. Still have Tele, Strats, Gretsches, etc. Lately I've been on a semi hollow trip. But I still bring some sort of LP to every gig.