HSS Strat schematic help

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by Tone, Jan 19, 2006.

1. Tone

Tone Member

Hey guys. In this HSS schematic, is position #4 middle single coil + one coil from the humbucker, or middle single + whole humbucker? Also, is position number #2 neck/middle? With this diagram, can the middle tone knob be used on the middle, as well as humbucker? If not, can I just move the tone knob wire from the middle sc lug, up to where the humbucker lug?

http://www.seymourduncan.com/support/schematics/hum_2sing_vol_2tone_-w-spl.html

As you can tell i'm not very good with schematics. [​IMG] I'm building a HSS strat, and looking for a schematic for this wiring:

1-neck
    2-neck/middle/ hum-cancelling
    3-middle
    4-middle/one coil from split humbucker/ hum-cancelling
    5-humbucker

I wanted one master volume and two tones. One tone for the neck, and one for the bridge humbucker, unless there is a way to make it work with both the middle and bridge pickups?

If I have a tone knob on the neck pickup, does that mean it will work in the neck/middle position? And also same for the bridge. If I'm using one on the humbucker, does that mean it will work with it's in between position?

Also, i suspect I need a RW/RP single coil. Does it go in the middle, or neck position? I've seen people suggest both, so I'm not sure where to put it. The pickups used will be an EVH, and two APS-1 or 2's. Not sure which to use on a 10"-16" compound radius fretboard. [​IMG]

Thanks!

2. John Phillips

John Phillips Member

ASSUMING you're using a standard 5-way switch, not one of the 4-pole/5-way 'Superswitches' (which can do just about any wiring scheme you like)...