HSS Strats: A reasonable compromise between owning a Strat & a Les Paul?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by jmp, Jan 31, 2012.

1. jmp

jmp Supporting Member

I have a Custom Shop '60 Strat and a Historic '58 Les Paul flametop. Both are true to their respective years in features. I often find that I am switching guitars, because I'll want a humbucker sound when I have the Strat and a single-coil sound when I'm on the LP. Occassionally, the thought of ditching them both in favor of a nice HSS Strat with vintage style pickups comes to mind. I'm not a pro and don't need a slew of guitars handy. The idea of spending all of my time in a monogamous relationship with ONE instrument is appealing.

Has anyone here switched from a Strat + LP combo to a single HSS Strat-style guitar and been happy with the compromise? Or is it "just not the same?"

The guitar that keeps tempting me is the Suhr Classic with V60LP singles and a SSV in the bridge.

If the Variax didn't require a battery and look so goofy that might be an option.

-Mike

Artb likes this.
  2. MrDoty

MrDoty Supporting Member

Its the most versatile setup IMHO. Its the most comfortable conventional body shape as well. my prefered setup.

drod1985, Average Joe and BoogieManSC like this.
  3. mixn4him

mixn4him Supporting Member

Battle this all the time, considering going for one of the new PRS models possibly the Studio, best of all worlds. Having owned a Suhr I can say it is awesome but the scale length is longer then a LP and does not have the grunt of a LP. In a strat format the only one I know of that has that LP grunt and strat qwack is a Tyler...

4. taez555

taez555 Member

My #1 is an HSH Warmoth strat I built with a mahogany body and maple top (just like a les paul) with a goncalo alves/pau fero neck (sorta like a mix between mahogany and rosewood, basically like a les paul)