Huge quandry....$1200 in hand......new guitar or amp???

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by jimmyohio75, Sep 8, 2008.

1. jimmyohio75

jimmyohio75 Member

OK, so I have been putting some $$$ away into a rathole fund for about 6 months and right now I am sitting on around $1200. I am definitely getting some new gear but I am torn. Should I get a sweet new strat(always wanted an American Deluxe v neck) or should I get a new amp(been considering a Fender Supersonic or '65 Deluxe Reverb Reissue).
    I am very happy with my current setup. I have a Deluxe Lonestar strat and an Orange Rocker 30 amp. I have been gigging with this setup and I have no problems. I have always wanted an American Deluxe strat but have held off buying one because the MIM Lonestar is so damn sweet. The Rocker 30 is an awesome amp but IMO is lacking a bit in the clean department, i.e, it's not a Fender. So let's here some arguments for both sides.
    Do I go for the guitar or a new amp???

2. Dumo

Dumo Supporting Member

Sounds like you need cleans more than another Strat to me.

3. angelo

angelo Member

So, to that end, SUPER REVERB!;)

4. MartinC

MartinC Member

I agree, I think you're going to need a different amp to get the clean tones you're after ... but if you went the DRRI/SRRI path, what would you do to replace the OD that the Rocker does so well?

With $1200 squirreled away, how much could you raise by selling the Rocker and the Strat that you have? Could you raise enough for an amp and a strat upgrade?

5. jimmyohio75

jimmyohio75 Member

Hmmmm....interesting. A new amp AND strat!