humidifiying an acoustic guitar in winter...

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by lv, Dec 17, 2005.

1. lv

lv Supporting Member

forced air heat has got my house pretty dry....any tips? do those dampit things work? or should I get a room humidifier?

thanks

2. jimmybcool

jimmybcool Supporting Member

Hi,

I am no expert but I am fighting the same issue. I live in Arizona and it is DRY here now. And I bought two xpensive new acoustics last month.

I am using a room humidifier and it does raise the humidity. I am trying for 50% but forget it. Can't keep it there. The heat blows in dry air and then I open the door to go play with my stuff and that lets out the humidity and the humidifier runs out of water sometimes (my bad)

I also use in the case humidifiers. The McPherson came with a case system with a hygrometer and humidifier. I use that. The Martin I use this thing (don't know name) that slides between the strings into the soundhole.

If you have a newer instrument it is more important. I asked the guy at the store why my old Guild which sat in its case in the house for 8 years without humidity control wasn't effected.

1) It is 30 years old and already dry enough.

2) The old D-50 Guilds were built like tanks.

Anyway, long winded but yeah, if you have a new acoustic I would get a humidifier.

3. sws1

sws1 Member

I just got a honeywell humidifier ($50 shipped) that I put in bedroom. I've moved all guitars in to the room. Puts out so much steam I was able to get it up to 75% humidity when I first used it. Now I have it dialed back to deliver about 55%. All in a pretty big bedroom.

I'm not cracking the top on any guitars like I did to my Taylor last year.

4. retro

retro Member

I posted this in another thread but...I use a couple of plastic travel soap dishes with snap top lids from Target. Drilled holes in the lid and cut a sponge to fit inside. I put them inside the case and it works quite well. Room humidifiers are nice.