Hwlp a brother out with understanding lead playing...

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by 6ringing, Jan 25, 2008.

1. 6ringing

6ringing Member

Hey all,
    I'm versed in playing lead in blues I, IV, V context where you can just use one scale (pentatonic) the whole time, but I'm trying to broaden my horizons, and I'm not sure how!

So my question is, for music like jazz, country or bluegrass (where the the good old pentatonic don't cut it) what the freak do you do? Change scales for each chord? I've heard reference to jazz players playing one scale for the chords are in one "key center" and then changing scales for the next "key center"...
    Is this how it's done? So when you play something other than blues, is your brain constantly working getting ready to shift to the next scale?

So I started learning my major scales (and modes) but have no idea how to apply this now.

How does this all work? What's the over-all philosophy for playing music other than the pentatonic blues??

THANK YOU for all helpful responses!

2. willhutch

willhutch Member

There's a lot of ways to answer this. One thing that really helps is to be able to tell which chords are in the same key. In the key of C, the I, IV, and V chords are C, F, G. This key also contains the chords Dm, Em, Am, Bmin7b5. Once you understand why this is true, you'll be able to see when a progression is staying in one key and when it is modulating. This will give you a lot of info about what notes to play.

To understand what chords are in a key, you must learn to harmonize the major scale. Do a websearch on this term and study up. It will get you started. It will also prompt a lot of other questions.

Welcome to the journey.

3. dewey decibel

dewey decibel Member

we eat a lot of cheese and drink a lot of beer
    Basically you're playing over chords- and highlighting the notes in the chords as they change is called "playing the changes".