I don't get my fuzz box-- How do you use Yours?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by wopr, Nov 30, 2005.

1. wopr

wopr Member

I was just looking for a new flavor of "distortion", so I thought I'd try out a fuzz box, but I am having a hard time getting a good-usable tone from it. So, I am asking for help. I got the AM Sunface with NKT, and run it though a Deluxe reverb with a les paul. I play most flavors of rock, and some light metal.

The bad is on its own, it seems harsh and bright. If I turn the fuzz up full, the high end is harsh, and if I try to adjust that out, the fuzz is gone and sounds thin.

The good is I do like it for leads. I turn the fuzz down, and stack it with my landgraff. It gives me a lot of gain and sustain which is nice. But, something tells me I could get a smoother tone from a high-gain distortion pedal that is not as harsh and touchy.

AM makes great pedals, so I am not knocking it. Part of the problem is my playing. I'm not good at using my volume knob while playing and I tend to hit my strings hard, which pushes the pedal. So, maybe fuzz is just not for me.

But, I would love to hear how others use fuzz whether for chords or leads, settings, whatever.

Thanks,

steve

2. Just1more

Just1more Member

I have the Sunface, & it works great for me. I am using it with a 50-100 watt Marshall amp, so maybe the DR doesn't have enough headroom. I have the fuzz cranked, & adjust the volume for level. Also, I prefer single coil guitars with it. With a Les Paul, I prefer a Tonebender type fuzz.

3. teleblaster

teleblaster Member