• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

I Don’t Like My Favorite Guitar…

Keith034

Hello all.

I’m learning to play guitar very late in life…still a beginner a week before my 48th birthday. I always wanted to learn, but I never seemed to have the time when I was younger…

And I always imagined that I would play a Les Paul. I always thought they were such cool, beautiful guitars, and many of the guitarists I know and respect play LPs.

So when I started learning I purchased a similar guitar (MK) and then a cheap Epi LP. And I still think they are cool, beautiful guitars, BUT…

I just don’t like playing them. I much prefer the feel of a Stratocaster. I wanted to be a Les Paul guy, but I’m just not.

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

Benz2112

Memba?
Gold Supporting Member
A lot of my favorite players were Gibson guys, Les Pauls and 335's in particular. I've owned each, moved both along, in fact multiple Les Paul's. I like a lot of stuff, but mostly stick to strat and tele style guitars, it is my home base. I have found more ergonomic solutions to the Les Paul tones, and I would probably be fine with never owning another one.

poppunk

If you want to play the instrument, playing the instrument that plays right for you is the most important thing. Ergonomics, feel, whatever.

If you don't have that reasonably, it doesn't matter what pickups it has in it and how it sounds.

There's varying levels of tolerance, but most people aren't going to play guitars they don't like looking at. Some people will be encouraged to play more by the cool factor if they like it a lot. But unless you're the kind of person who doesn't have strong preferences for configuration/feel, you're going to be pulled down hard if you play an instrument that doesn't play the way you want.

mikekim

I know how you feel... I've always preferred the ergonomic feel of playing a strat.