I gotta tell ya.......What do you think?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Denny, Jan 23, 2006.

1. Denny

Denny Member

I just got a new Epiphone 335 Dot Studio in worn brown. Now.... before you start slamming it - let me tell you - I've been playing guitar for over 45 years! I own a McCarty, a custom G&L Comanche, a G&L ASAT special - a Paisley Tele and a Martin J-15, a Mesa Nomad and Budda Superdrive II 18 watt, 1x12. This guitar is excellent - and for under $300.00 (plus case) - I just can't believe it. fit, finish, wood, tone - it's all there. The tolerances on the hardware (bridge and tailpiece) isn't great - but that is easily fixed with teflon tape around the studs. Even the tuners are excellent. And all this coming from China - remember whe Ibanez first began building guitars to compete with Fender and Gibson? - Looks to me like china is giving everyone a run for the money! The Studio is a stripped-down 335 dot. What I really like is that it has only one volume and one tone control and that the jack is on the side (edge) of the guitar, not on the top. They seemed to have skipped the final polishing on the frets - this too is easily fixed even if someone can't do it themselves. The frets are beautifully set, leveled and crowned - no sharp edges - intonation is great. If you get a chance to play/get one - do it. The pups are as good as my diMarzio PAF's are - honestly (sorry ron). and you should see the CASE!! Holy cow Batman - it's a work of art!! and for $65.00 - I wish I had one to fit my PRS!

So what do you guys think?

Denny

2. mavrick10_2000

mavrick10_2000 Member

Denny,

We Need some pics! Sounds like a great deal. Especially with good tuners:AOK ! Something the Epiphones and Ibanez have some problems with.