I hate pedals

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Lou Brush, Oct 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lou Brush

Lou Brush Member

I've been playing professionally for over 30 years and I've come to the conclusion that I despise pedals. I don't even like reverb. I simply prefer a dry guitar tone through a high-quality amp. I want my guitar to sound like a guitar. I see all these elaborate pedal boards and just cringe. I like showing up to a gig with a guitar, an amp, and a cable. Does anyone just plug straight into the amp anymore?

I know folks like U2's Edge get great live tone through a very complex pedal system... it's just not for me. It sounds artificial to my ear. I play blues, rock, country, and jazz and have never had the need for tone-shaping pedals. Most of my guitar-playing friends don't get it. Just my 2 cents. Flame away.

2. Powderfinger

Powderfinger Gold Supporting Member

If that's what you like, that's great. As long as you don't have a superior attitude and look down on people who do use pedals. Then we've got an issue.:)

3. VaughnC

VaughnC Supporting Member

I view pedals as sort of a necessary evil. While I prefer the sound of my guitar straight into a good non-master volume, non-channel switching amp, sometimes a song requires wah, reverb, delay, or distortion to sound right.

4. CGrisamore

CGrisamore Member

I have a friend who feels like you do. He calls pedals "tone removers"...

5. Rock Fella

Rock Fella Member

not a great way to introduce yourself with only holding 2 posts ...........know what i mean, but Im not a lover of pedals myself, I have a Bad Horsie wah but I think a wah is an essential pedal to many many players, I sometimes add the merest hint of analog delay...........but thats my lot , I too want to hear guitar, not pedals.

jimmy

6. Jon Silberman

Jon Silberman 10Q Jerry & Dickey Gold Supporting Member

7. matte

matte Senior Member

just hate. why discriminate?

8. matte