I have a Digitech RP350. POD even worth it?

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by armanHammer, Mar 29, 2013.

1. armanHammer

armanHammer Member

The 350 is ok. Two or three decent amp models and effects, meh delay and reverb, but that's about it. I also hate how there's a cringeworthy silent gap when switching presets. I don't want to waste my money again. I want an investment, not a toy: something that I will use for life. So, people who have tried both: would a POD even be worth it (desktop, floor, or otherwise) or should I just cave and go for an Eleven Rack, Fractal or Kemper? I've been playing for ten years now, and I want something that will serve me well in all situations: live, recording, late night practice with headphones. I have a '57 RI Strat which I love, and an Ampeg Reverberocket, but it's gigantic and only does clean tones well (albeit very well.) I want a toolshed, not a one-trick pony (even the RP350 is pretty much one-trick.) I also have a Gibson 1x8 GA5. But overall, I'm attracted to the idea of one device that does everything well. I'm sure some of you have owned all of these. I've heard the PODs are great, but I'd essentially be wasting my money if I would need something better later on anyway. Your thoughts? Thanks!

2. tonesurf

tonesurf Senior Member

"something that I will use for life"
    check you assumptions I say as that may never happen, the GAS never dies, and digital gear can fail and in some cases be unrepairable for the most part

11R is great but not really developed anymore, seems to be end of life for that, look for a good deal if you want one
    GT100 from Boss is amazing, Zoom stuff is amazing, Line 6 HD stuff is amazing, Kemper and Axe amazing too,

you got to try some stuff out, RP350 aint bad for sure but the new stuff is much more flexible in terms of setting what you want here and there

RP350 Lexicon reverbs are pretty good by the way