I have a very vague question

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by MikeyST, Jan 10, 2008.

1. MikeyST

MikeyST Member

I have a question to ask you guys...and maybe with some answers...I can narrow it down and try to get more specific.

I'm new to the forum, and especially to the world of better pedals.
    I am really a rookie to the world of really better sound.

I read a post in the last couple days that was really good. It refers to the different type players here. I know some of you guys do studio work...some do gigs...and some do both. I am at the bottom of the food chain. Older guy who mostly plays in the basement at lower levels. But I do go to blues jams, and will also be hosting a blues jam soon.

Yes there is a question here somewhere......
    In the spring I want to go down to Sun studio and record. I have some friends making me backing tracks because I currently have no band.
    No vocal ( white bread voice) You can still go and record in the same room as elvis.
    Its always been something I wanted to do.

So the questions are...how would you go about achieving a good studio sound? I know thats too general, but do you guys test and do practice recordings when you get to a studio till you get the sound your'e happy with? Do you use your pedals in the studio?
    I dont even know if people play cranked and loud in the studio..or is it quieter?

When I crank my amp at home...it has awesome tone...but its completely different than the low volume tone searching. I assume they will help me to a point when I get down there...but I want to have my own idea when I show up.

Sorry if this is so general...but when I get back on the froum tomorrow...maybe with a few answers from you guys...i can be more specific.

I also wanted to keep this in the effects forum because Ive been experimenting with a couple better pedals on the advice Ive gotten here and Id really like the feedback now from this forum.

Mike

2. plan-x