I have figured out the secret to unlocking the tone from a Mark series Boogie!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Stormin, Jan 17, 2008.

1. Stormin

Stormin Staff Member Supporting Member

First of all, if your a Boogie hater, please go away! I am a Boogie lover. In the past, I've owned a Mark III and IV, and I've been playing my Mark I reissue for alomst 10 years now. I have finally figured out the secret to unlocking it's magical tone. I've tried 6L6s, 6V6s, EL-34s, NOS tubes, all manner of differtent pre tubes, swapping 12AT7's for 12AX7's, MC90s, EVM12s, Vinatge 30s. Marshall 4x12s and even the beloved 1x12 Thiele cabs. Two days ago, I found the secret...

USE A MESA RECTO CAB!!!

I bought a used V30 loaded 2x12 horizontal Recto cab. This is it! I've got the "Twin on steroids" and the so-called "giant killer". Now I have the punch of a Twin and the roar of a Plexi. The way the sound attacks you is unspeakable. It feels like the scene from Back to the Future. As best as I can tell after a day, the V30's work to balance the thump of the Recto cab, which together give you the low end punch the we often miss with our Boogies. Initially I swithed the V30s for an MC90/EVM12L combination and all the magic was gone (thanks to John Phillips for the I told ya so). Then I went to a 4 ohm load of V30s that I had laying around. Same thing. Back to the stock 8 ohm load of V30s and the magic returns. Maybe Boogies really want an 8 ohm load?

I feel like a kid on Christmas, so I just wanted share that I've found what I'm looking for, and here's how I got it.

Mark I Reissue using the cascaded gain channel with both gains on 3.
    Presence on 10, then set your treble, keep the mids at least at 5 or more.
    EH 12AX7 pretubes with a 12AT7 in the PI position.
    Mullard reissue EL34 power tubes.
    Recto Horizontal 2x12 with V30's @ 8 ohms
    A couple of my favorite OD pedals...

Stormin!

2. pfrischmann

pfrischmann Member

FWIW,