I have played a ton of overdrives and for the most part they are all the same

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by moderndrummer, Aug 3, 2006.

1. moderndrummer

moderndrummer Member

This will be hard for me to describe. I have been playing guitar for 12 years now. I have had every boutique amp and pedal that I have ever wanted. I am not rich by any stretch of the imagination but being a working musician I have had the opportunity to play a ton of stuff.

I have lately been doing alot of a/b comparison stuff. I have found that with a good amp and a good guitar most overdrives are pretty much the same. I mean there are some differences, but its not this giant seperation that we have all been taught to believe. Some have a little more mids, some have a little more bass, some are a bit more clear, some are a bit bright. But play with the controls a bit and you can get almost any overdrive to sound like another overdrive. Do some tweaking and you will find regardless of chip, etc. you can get them close and not just a little I mean so close that in a recorded clip demo you can barely and I mean bearely tell the difference.

I find they are all doing the same thing essetially, pushing your tubes to overdrive. some are better matches for your setup than others, but the differences are very minor. Mostly any pedal could work in anyones setup really.

So to sum it up for me, why chase my tail anymore. Pick the few I like, and know that with some tweaking, maybe even some stacking I can get probably any sound I want, and searching out new ones will not offer me anything new.

I am talking about quality pedals, price was not an issue just quality pedals. A few clunkers that couldnt hang imo were the stamps drive o matic and digital od's.