1. The Gear Page is run by musicians for musicians. We listen, we learn and if we misstep we are not afraid to do the right thing. We proposed some changes to the Emporiums. Based on feedback from members, we have decided to not go ahead with those changes. However, it has also highlighted that we need some community input into what is working and what is not working for members here. Primarily focused on the Emporiums, we'd like input on your thoughts about TGP and how things work in the Emporiums for you and how you'd improve them. The discussion thread on the is here!

Dismiss Notice

I killed my '66 Bassman - any ideas?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by smurfco, Feb 11, 2019.

1. smurfco

smurfco Member

Sooo here's a sad story. I got a 1966 Fender Bassman head and cab on CL for a decent price. I've wanted to start working on amps for a while, having built pedals, rewired guitars, etc. I am not an electrician but I know some basics, and I make certain all caps are drained / check with a voltmeter / etc.

All that is to say, when I am working on a mod, I am following instructions very closely, but I don't always know why I am doing what I am doing. So when something doesn't work I am at a loss for where to start troubleshooting.

Back to the Bassman. A few months ago I replaced the electrolytic and filter caps, and the resistors that are prone to getting noisy. Everything was great. Amp sounded nice and some crackling / weird noises that had been present were gone. All seemed well. This week I decided to convert the balance bias to a more normal style bias so I could properly bias the amp. I followed the instructions here:

http://el34world.com/charts/bias_conversions.htm

I take out the resistors to the right of the bias pot, add my 220K resistors to the board, and get everything looking like this:
    [​IMG]