1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

I need a light, inexpensive combo for Jazz

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by EvilMeow, Mar 6, 2006.

1. EvilMeow

EvilMeow Member

Well, the last few years have been interesting, as I've shed a lot of my past playing style and been practicing jazz heavily. I joined my college's jazz combo a while ago, and the peavey that I've been using is extremely unreliable, and I have no amp of my own that's appropriate to bring along on the road at the moment.

I'm looking for a nice deep clean jazz sound. I currently play an Ibanez AF105 most of the time. If it has decent overdrive, all the better, though that's not my main priority.

I have no idea what's out there these days, as I haven't been in the gear scene for a couple years.

The most important thing for me is that it has to be reliable and lightweight without breaking the bank (I am a student now, after all). The smaller footprint it gives the better, as well, as lots of time there's not a ton of room in the van, and it's only a 5piece group anyway.

Any thoughts/experiences?

Zucker? Lerner? Soloway? Tag?

2. Jim Soloway

Jim Soloway Supporting Member

I used to consider this to be one of the toughest questions to answer. I now consider it to be an absolutel no brainer: the new Roland Cube 60 modeling amp. For $350 new, it's one of the best bargains I've ever encontered. It's tiny, loud, lightweight and has just all sorts of usable sounds. Here's a clip I did with mine playing my 7-string using the blackface model. The way it handles the low A string is simply spectacular.

http://www.jimsoloway.com/TascamDemos/E078-1.mp3

3. EvilMeow

EvilMeow Member

Wow, that thing sounds great. $350? Hell, I guess that's pretty hard to beat.

It's funny. I never used to be very particular, and all jazz tones sounded the same to me until I started actually playing it

x_X

4. OOG

OOG Member