I need blues help!

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by droptune, Feb 27, 2012.

1. droptune

droptune Member

I have been playing for 30 years. Mostly classical and metal. I have messed around with the blues but never got too serious. I think the reason I never got too serious is because I dont really know what to play. When I play blues it sounds more like shred blues. Pretty much in only 2 positions. Are there any good training dvds that might help? If so, please let me know.

2. Twitchey

Twitchey Member

I love Chicago blues, so my first recommendation is purchase the Willie Dixon Chess records compilation.

Just listen and enjoy ... copy the licks you like note for note!

If in doubt which tunes for great guitar playing listen to those with Hubert Sumlin.

You'll find that the MAJOR pentatonic is just as useful as the minor (which is basically the same shape 3 frets down with accents and bends on different notes).

Second recommendation is to play with other (well informed) blues musicians. Unfortunately, your local blue jam might not be the best place to seek such musicians out ... :(

Don't know if this is helpful at all, but it's how I started on the path ...

3. lamenlovinit

lamenlovinit Member

Depends on what style. Chicago electric, or texas electric, I'm assuming you aren't that interested in acoustic.

Blues you can use is a book with CD that is pretty good. General overview, but useful if you're the kind of person who can connect the dots on your own.

But what I really recommend is going to used book stores, and buy every blues book you can lay your hands on. Even acoustic ones. Pick and choose what you pick up out of the books.

4. ES350

ES350 Member

Earl Hooker, Jody Williams, Magic Sam, Lurrie Bell, Otis Rush, Hubert Sumlin, T-Bone, Gatemouth Brown, BB, Freddie, etc, etc etc...just listen and soak it up. Slow down, play with a relatively clean tone (guitar-amp-reverb), and work on a good vibrato.

5. wrathfuldeity