I need help finding the right amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by TobyManhattan, Feb 15, 2012.

1. TobyManhattan

TobyManhattan Member

I've been playing an AC30CC2 for about 3 years now and need to move on to another amp. Basically the other guitar player in my band plays the exact same AC30, and we want to vary the tones a little with a different amp. They can get a little too similar sometimes. For other reasons, going back to the Vox just isn't an option. So far I've tried a Hot Rod Deluxe 3 and hated all the drive sounds I got with or without pedals aside from cranking the normal channel to about 5.5 or 6. I found the Drive channel to be thin and digital sounding, and found using a distortion pedal through the clean channel to produce a lifeless sound with bad note definition on chords.

My budget at the very maximum (would have to use credit) is around $1500. I'd prefer to keep it around $1000 but this is something I spend 20-30 hours a week using so I'm willing to spend a little more if I need to.

Here's the criteria:

The amp has to have good overdrive at a reasonable volume. By reasonable I mean our practice volume which is basically gigging volume in small clubs. Think AC30CC2 or C2 with the master at 1/4 and the top boost a little over half. I'm definitely not playing metal or anything high gain either so I don't need that much drive.

It needs to have good note definition when playing chords. I don't even know if that's the right term, it was just a big problem I had when playing the Hot Rod Deluxe 3 compared to the AC30. I play a lot of barre chords if that helps.

I need it to be either a 2x12 (didn't like using a 1x12) or if it's a head, the head be inexpensive enough to be able to afford a decent 2x12 cab since I don't own any cabs.

I'd like to avoid Fender amps. I've had 2 now and I didn't get along with either of them, although I'm sure I would if we played gigs where I could crank it.