I need help with finding a new wah

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by junior40, Jan 11, 2008.

1. junior40

junior40 Member

Hello everybody, my name is JR, and i am new here to the gear page, this is my first post here...from what i have seen this looks like a very good forum with a lot of good information. I have been playing guitar for about 10 years and i play a 62 and a 76 american strat. I am in the market for a new wah pedal, i currently have a morley bad horsie 2 steve vai wah pedal, i used to have a crybaby 95q, but i'm using the morley right now...i really love the frusciante/hendrix wah tone a lot so thats the sound i'm looking for, i feel like the morley isnt doing it for me. my dirt pedals are a big muff, ds-2, and a fulltone ocd going into a marshall vintage modern half stack....i hear that fulltone, buddah, and vox pedals are really good. i was wondering what you guys thought which wah is good for the tone i want to get? once again thanks guys and hopefully i can get a chance to know people here...:D

2. Doodles

Doodles Member

Ther's alot more out there than just your average mass produced wahs. Wahs that are handmade by people that use high quality components. Yeah they may cost a little more. Okay in some instances alot more but that's the way you get the tone you're after. Here's some places you should check out.
    Area 51 http://area51tubeaudiodesigns.com/M...ode=001&Product_Code=wah&Category_Code=cat001

Wilson Effects http://www.wilsoneffects.com/

Rmc http://www.realmccoycustom.com/

There's also alot of places that do wah mods to tweak out your current one. I myself own 2 of the wilson effects wahs and have to say they are some of the best I have played. Area 51 and Teese are also held in high regard but I've never owned on so I'll let someone else take over from here. Good luck!!!

3. Sunstone Recordings

Sunstone Recordings Supporting Member