I need Soldering training

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by Gillespie1983, Dec 2, 2017.

1. Gillespie1983

Gillespie1983 Member

I have had no training or work experience with soldering. So: I can make large solder joints that don't hold two wires together and I can melt wire insulation even before the solder begins to flow. Help!
    Recommend some soldering videos, please.
    Recommend a beginner iron, etc for general cable soldering and pickup swapping.

Thanks in advance from a long-time novice.

ctreitzell likes this.
  2. HotBluePlates

HotBluePlates Member

How to Solder

1960 NASA Soldering Movie

Expert Level Soldering - Training series from NASA-affiliated folks. Many cleaning steps, but shows all the proper steps for no-fail solder joints including steps required by NASA and FAA for aviation soldering (where people's lives depend on good solder joints).

3. paulg

paulg Supporting Member

15 watt iron is good for guitar and amp work. I have a 80watter for tinning pots and chassis grounds

ctreitzell likes this.
  4. tonegangster

tonegangster Silver Supporting Member

What's a recommended brand for beginners? I just want to do pickups and speakers. Thanks

ctreitzell likes this.
  5. stahlhart

stahlhart Member

Make a good mechanical connection prior to soldering
    Heat the parts, not the solder
    Find an inexpensive electronic kit or two to build first
    Practice, practice, practice

6. SnidelyWhiplash

SnidelyWhiplash Member

Please don't cheap out on a iron. I did so with a Rat Shack & it was a bigg mistake.
    Buy a good quality one & it will last you a lifetime & will make soldering jobs so
    much easier. :cool:

7. stahlhart

stahlhart Member

No need to really overthink it -- if this will be all you're doing , you'll do just fine with something like a Weller 40W pencil for about $20. Might want to add a cage stand to keep it safe.

8. pdf64

pdf64 Member

Don't use lead free solder wire.