I need to re-learn everything

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by lowendgenerator, Mar 14, 2005.

1. lowendgenerator

lowendgenerator Member

Im a self taught guitar player whos been playing for 15 years or so, and I have reached a point where I cannot get any better. I have a decent ear for notes, but for the most part Ive chosen the rhythm path in life. My soloing is terrible, and I cant read music at all.

There seems to be a lot of good people here, so Im letting my guard down and asking for help. Where should I start? I am not looking to slay ala Zucker in 6 months, but I would like to be able to play fluidly at speed without spending another 15 years in frustration.

Im more inclined to learn sitting in front of this idiot box, so any online beginners tutorials/lessons would be great. but at this point Im a begger, so I dont have the luxury of being a chooser.

Any help/advice is sincerely appreciated.

Adam

2. Sturmur

Sturmur Guest

3. Mark C

Mark C Member

#1. Start picking out solos by ear. The greats all did this and it will work for you as well. Start with some simpler stuff, like David Gilmour.

#2. Learn some basic theory. Learn scales, chords, modes and how they relate to eachother so you can open up the fretboard.

#3. Don't look at this as relearning everything. Take it in little bits, one at a time. Learn a new lick everyday, set a practice schedule.

4. John Hurtt

John Hurtt Supporting Member

Contact Tomo Fujita - No kidding, you've read about him here likely. If not, he's an instructor at the Berklee School of Music in Boston. Great player, great guy...

He has lots of options. He has a video/dvd with an accompanying book called "Accelerate Your Guitar Playing" that is terrific. He also has some other lesson material, new stuff coming out. You can learn from the dvd (or vhs tape), he has a cd/book and he also gives correspondence lessons if you are motivated in that way.