I still like Gibson guitars

skydog

and Martin, too. Growing up, these were the two premier brands that I looked forward to owning. I bought my first Gibson in 1979, a 1963 SG JR. It took me twenty years more to get my first Martin, a 000C-15E. College expenses and building up a contracting business took up most of my disposable income. Not being a working musician, I couldn't justify an expensive guitar. Nowadays, I am trying to limit my ‘stable’ to one nice electric and one nice acoustic, plus an inexpensive Epiphone for the basement den/TV room (I get nervous going up and down the stairs with the nice stuff!). My nice electric is a Thorn JR 90, my acoustic an OM28. My point is, I'd have no problem owning a modern Gibson. Sure there's been some QC problems. It's a volatile market and a lot of makers are struggling to find their niche. What I don't understand is the ‘love to hate’ wolf pack mentality at TGP. Gibson and Martin seem to be dirty words around here!

Mtt02263

I still haven't found acoustics that do what I want as well as my Martin's. My 00-28VS is the best finger style guitar I've found and continually astounds me every time I play it. I also just bought a new 60th anniversary R0 V1 which is the best Les Paul I've ever played. There are so many options for everything now, but there is definitely something to playing a classic, it feels like home.

C-4

Growing up, it was Gibson, Fender, and Martin.
I still prefer these brands, after all the others that I tried over my 63 years.

While I do have a PRS semi-solid 594 single cut, which is a beautiful guitar, I just cannot bond with how it feels being played. It will eventually go, but I gave PRS an honest try with various other models they make, and they cannot stand up to the Gibsons I chose.

Bully, shcmully! I don't listen too, or go by any of that crap. No matter how I feel, I have to play what I like, what appeals to me, and nothing else comes into that equation when it's my money being spent.