I swapped out my P90's for Reilander P90's and I am a happy camper!!!

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by popinvasion, Feb 18, 2012.

1. popinvasion

popinvasion Supporting Member

Mike Reilander is the man. I love his pickups. I am a big fan of his single coil telecaster pups-they are my favorite telecaster pickups.

I just got a few P90's from him. He is a a great pickup winder.

He is super helpful and affordable. I am a novice when it comes to wiring and soldering and Mike always sets me up with a wiring harness including pots and caps. He makes things drop in, dead simple for me. I love that. Plus it also upgrades the pots and caps at the same time. Bonus!

Ok so I have two P90 guitars. Both gibson juniors.

The first one I originally swapped out for a Lollar P90.
    The second I kept the original.

I am a big fan of Gibson P90's. I feel like Gibson does P90's well and rarely do I want to swap them. The first junior with the Lollar was a sweet sounding rock guitar but it was too noisy so I replaced it with the Lollar. The Lollar I am a big fan of because it is nice and quiet and less noisy but it does seem very tame in comparison to the Gibson P90. I was never happy with the Lollar as I feel like it made the guitar just too mild mannered.

The second junior was sporting and original P90. I did not want to compromise the bark for another Lollar. But again this gibson P90 was a little bit noisy and hummy. I love the tone but I am annoyed especially with delay pedals and all the noise.

Enter the Reilander P90's.