i want to be better!

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Fuzzdawg, Mar 2, 2006.

1. Fuzzdawg

Fuzzdawg Member

i have been playing guitar for ten years. i play accoustic and electric, both rhythm and lead, and sometimes both at the same time. i know enough about the guitar to know that i play pretty good. not great, but pretty good. and it sounds good. people love it.

the only problem is that i want my solos to sound better. i mean, they sound good, and i hit good notes, i just don't have enough practice to play really scortchin solos. specifically, i want to play blues solo's better. and i want something i can do by myself... you know, not guitar lessons.

what do you guys recommend that will help me get better? finger excersizes? instructional dvd's? just keep soloing?

2. ari

ari Member

I hear ya. I feel that I'm in a similar place -- people seem to be very appreciative of my playing, but I know I have much, much more in me that's not realized.

I guess the first thing to do is to self-analyze. Or if it's hard to do it yourself, find someone else mature and hopefully more experienced/developed (a teacher, ideally) to do it with you. Specifically, here's how you
    1. What are your goals?
    2. Which areas of your playing are lacking in relation to your goals?
    3. What are the best practice methods to improve the problem area?
    For me, I didn't take the time/money to seek out a teacher so I did it myself. I bought Tomo Fujita's DVD that everyone's talking about. I bought it not just because of its reputation, but because I knew that it covered the fundamentals well. When I tested myself against 4 most important areas he covers, (technique/precision, ear training, rhythm, and familiarity with common styles and grooves), I came up most short in the first area. I sort of knew that, but this was a confirmation. I am a player who lacks the technique to execute the music I hear in my head.