I want to build a 32" scale F-style bass with Warmoth parts, any thoughts/recommendations?

voodoochili12

Silver Supporting Member
Hey folks, I've been playing guitar for 15 years and want to branch out into bass for home recording and some cover band gigs.

I really want maximum playability, so I'm leaning towards a 32" scale - which I surmise is a nice balance between a full traditional 34" and a very small 30" scale.

Is Warmoth a good company? Any insights/recommendations on what to do, or not to do in the ordering and build process?

Thanks

royd

Go for it! Their bodies and necks are very well made. You will end up with a bass that has whatever level of parts you choose and likely will have higher quality parts than you would have gotten for a similar price in a company built bass. It is a fun project (I've built three partscasters). You get exactly what you want.

now the downside... it will cost more than you expect and if you ever sell the bass, you'll lose money. Resale on parts built instruments is not good. Often, you make out better if you part it out and sell the parts separately. I'd expect this to be even more true with a short scale bass. Sometimes you end up with an amazing instrument and sometimes it doesn't quite add up to the sum of the parts (I've had both results).

I have some GAS to do exactly the same thing. I've looked over the in-stock pages and chosen bodies and necks and looked at hardware and pups , adding it all up, more than once...

For a less expensive route with a standard scale neck that still gives you an excellent instrument, check out the Carvin kits. Their bodies and necks are really well made. Pups and hardware are more mixed.

s2y

Warmoth's truss rod system seemed to be heavy a few years back. Not sure if that has been addressed in recent times.

I have all sorts of difference scale lengths for bass. I can't say that 32" makes a huge difference compared to my hands.

s2y