• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

I want to build a '57 mini tweed from scratch

So I came across Stew Macs kit for the '57 Mini Tweed 5W Amp (link at bottom) and thought to myself that I'd like to build one of those. I'm wondering, if I got my hands on the schematic and purchased all the parts myself and made my own cabinet would I save much? I've never done it before so it would also be a learning experience.

Any thoughts on how much something like that might cost by not going the kit route?

TIA!

Jeff Gehring

Gold Supporting Member
Typically, you do better --price wise-- by getting a kit with all you will need included than you would going a la carte. Plus, if you've never built anything before, there is much to be said for good instructions, and some tasks already completed for you (like making the eyelet boards). The Weber kit is probably the cheapest complete kit you can buy, although some parts are not of the first quality.

Dan40

Silver Supporting Member
As Jeff said, having a premade eyelet board is so much easier than having to lay one out for yourself and building it. A kit with a pre-punched chassis is also a wonderful thing if it is your first build. Just buying the extra tools to make the eyelet board and drill the chassis can cause your cost to go up. A good set of build instructions and startup instructions is also nice to have on your first build.

HotBluePlates

So I came across Stew Macs kit ... I'm wondering, if I got my hands on the schematic ... would I save much? ...
Typically, you do better --price wise-- by getting a kit with ... some tasks already completed for you (like making the eyelet boards). ...
As Jeff said, having a premade eyelet board is so much easier than having to lay one out for yourself and building it. ...